“Good Design” should be accessible to everyone

hospice-1794351_1920

 

After reading the above resources, I was surprised to learn about the accessibility of a website and its requirements. Unfortunately, I, like most people, never stopped to think about how people with a disability would be able to access my website. I am glad that these resources allowed me to understand how to ensure that I do not discriminate against anyone with a disability. For example, in the article W3C: Accessibility, “Some people cannot use a mouse, including many older users with limited fine motor control. An accessible website does not rely on the mouse; it provides all functionality via a keyboard. Then people with disabilities can use assistive technologies that mimic the keyboard, such as speech input.” I was excited to learn how I can take steps to NOT make many common mistakes in my web design. I honestly never even thought about color blindness as a disability, but I can definitely understand how web design would be very important to those users. I had also never considered that flashing lights could cause someone to go into an epileptic seizure. I certainly would not want my website to be the cause of that! Another thing to consider could be dyslexia. I would imagine that making sure your site is very clear and readable. These articles really put into perspective the many things you have to consider when creating a website to ensure that you have good web design, because good web design should be usable for anyone. I know that I will ensure I follow many of these guidelines to make my site accessible to everyone.

One thought on ““Good Design” should be accessible to everyone

Leave a Reply

